ABU DHABI, United Arab Emirates -- (BUSINESS WIRE) -- The Zayed Future Energy Prize, today announced the top 40 entries to compete for the 2011 Prize. The Prize is the most prestigious and internationally recognized award for innovation, performance and leadership in sustainable and renewable energy projects. Entries from 13 nations have been selected for their contribution to sustainable and renewable energy solutions.

The top 40 entries were selected from a total of 391 submissions through a rigorous selection process. The winner, to be announced on 18th January 2011 at an awards ceremony in Abu Dhabi, will receive $1.5 million USD. In addition, two other finalists will receive up to $350,000 each for outstanding work in the field of renewable and sustainable energy. The total $2.2 million Zayed Future Energy Prize, now in its third year, is inspired by the vision and environmental stewardship of the late Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, Founding Father and President of the United Arab Emirates.

The Review Committee examined a hundred entries from all over the globe. The top 40 entries include the following regional breakdown: eighteen from the United States, four from the UK, four from India, three from the Netherlands, two from Belgium, two from China and one entry each from Benin, Hong Kong, Brazil, Japan, Denmark, Sweden and Croatia.

Dr. Sgouris Sgouridis, Chairperson of the Review Committee, said: “Selecting the top 40 entries was very challenging yet rewarding, as the number, caliber and impact of the entries were impressive. Although the top 40 are all strong candidates, ultimately the Prize will be awarded to the one who has made the greatest contribution to innovation, long-term vision and leadership in renewable energy and sustainability.”

Shortlisted entries came from a variety of organizations, NGOs, businesses and individuals who are committed to green energy technologies. The scope of work of the Prize entries include solar installations, solar-wind hybrid systems, wind turbine businesses, biofuel generation, energy storage, electric vehicles, hybrid vehicle charging technologies, low energy water treatments, storm resistant and eco homes.

The rigorous and transparent judging and evaluations process is based on three main criteria: long-term vision, innovation and leadership. From the top 40, the Selection Committee will determine the top 6 entries. The Zayed Future Energy Prize expert jury will then determine the winner and two runner-ups by unanimous decision.

The 2011 jury is led by Dr. R.K. Pachauri, the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and Chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) in 2002. Jury members are; Ólafur Ragnar Grimsson, President of the Republic of Iceland; H.E. Eng. Khaled Irani, Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources, Jordan; H.E. Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh, Chairman Masdar; Lord John Browne, Managing Director of Riverstone Holdings; Lord Norman Foster, Founder and Chairman, Foster and Partners; and Dr. Susan Hockfield, President, Massachusetts Institute Of Technology.